Video: Beyond 2016 - MIT's frontiers of the future

Presenters and talks

April 12, 2016, 1:30 – 3:30 pm



John Ochsendorf , Chair, MIT2016 Steering Committee and Colloquium Co-Chair, Class of 1942 Professor, Department of Architecture and Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering


L. Rafael Reif, President, MIT


Emerging Markets Drive Global Solutions

Amos Winter, Assistant Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering, MIT

Fluid Dynamics of Infectious Disease Transmission 

Lydia Bourouiba, Esther and Harold E. Edgerton Career Development Professor, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, MIT

Exploring Quantum Behavior in Flatland

Pablo Jarillo-Herrero, Mitsui Career Development Associate Professor of Physics, MIT

Uncovering Photosynthesis at the Nanoscale

Gabriela Schlau-Cohen, Assistant Professor, Chemistry, MIT

What Inventions Are We Missing?

Heidi Williams, Class of 1957 Career Development Assistant Professor, Department of Economics, MIT

Mobile Technologies and Financial Inclusion in Africa

Tavneet Suri, Maurice J. Strong Career Development Associate Professor, MIT Sloan School of Management

Rethinking China's Growth Model

Yasheng Huang, International Program Professor in Chinese Economy and Business and Associate Dean, MIT Sloan School of Management

From Nature-inspired Design to Design-inspired Nature

Neri Oxman, Sony Corporation Career Development Associate Professor, Media Lab

Using Biology for Chemistry's Sake

Kristala Prather, Theodore T. Miller Associate Professor, Department of Chemical Engineering

Wireless Systems that Extend Our Senses

Dina Katabi, Andrew and Erna Viterbi Professor, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Where the Wild Things Will Be (in 100 Years)

Katharina Ribbeck, Eugene Bell Career Development Professor of Tissue Engineering, Department of Biological Engineering

Is There Music at MIT?

Marcus Thompson, Institute Professor and Robert R. Taylor Professor of Music, MIT

Cities of a New Future

John Fernandez, Professor, Department of Architecture and Director, MIT Environmental Solutions Initiative


Rebecca Saxe, Symposium Cochair, Professor of Cognitive Neuroscience, Department of Brain and Cognitive Sciences, MIT